Contest - Upgrades



How do I upgrade my contest?

You can add upgrades to your contest while creating it or even once it is posted. On the Start a Contest page, just select any upgrade on the fourth step before posting the contest. 


If your contest is already posted, just go to the contest page, click Edit Brief, choose your upgrade, and click Upgrade Contest.


Here are the contest upgrades you can get to receive more entries:

  • Guaranteed - With this upgrade, you are guaranteeing participants that the prize money will be awarded to a winner. The Money Back Guarantee does not apply to Guaranteed contests.

  • Featured - Your contest will be prominently displayed on the Browse Contests page to attract more high-quality entries.

  • Top Contest - This allows top freelancers to get automatically invited to join your contest.

  • Highlight - When listed on the Browse Contests page, your contest will be highlighted in yellow and a trophy icon will be posted before the contest title to make it more noticeable to designers.

  • Sealed -  Only the contest holder can view all entries. A designer can view only their own entry; in place of other entries, they can only view a sealed icon. 

  • Private - This upgrade hides your contest from search engines. Only logged in users can view your contest. Use this upgrade when confidentiality is a must.

  • NDA - To keep the details of your contest confidential, freelancers who will participate your contest must sign a Non-Disclosure Agreement.  

  • Urgent - This helps you get your favorite entry and complete your contest within 1-2 days. The Urgent upgrade is not available on active contests.

What is a Guaranteed contest?

A Guaranteed contest attracts more designs by committing to select a winner and awarding the prize money.


It's FREE to guarantee your contest, just select the Guaranteed upgrade when posting your contest. If the contest is already posted, click Edit Brief on the contest page, select the Guaranteed option from the optional upgrades section and click Upgrade Contest


Note: The Money Back Guarantee does not apply to a Guaranteed contest as you are assuring the designers that you will be awarding the prize. If you do not choose a winner within 30 days after the contest closing, the prize money will be distributed among freelancers with qualified designs.

What is a Featured contest?

The Featured upgrade is an affordable and easy way for your contest to attract designers by having it prominently displayed on the Browse Contests page.


You can upgrade to a Featured contest by selecting the upgrade when creating a contest on the Start a Contest page. If the contest has already been posted, you can select the upgrade by clicking Edit Brief on your contest page.

What is a Top Contest?

The Top Contest upgrade automatically invites top freelancers to join your contest. This ensures that you get high-quality entries from experienced freelancers.


You can upgrade to a Top Contest by selecting the upgrade when creating your contest. If your contest is already published, just go to its page, click Edit Brief and select the upgrade. 

What is an Urgent contest?

The Urgent upgrade is an optional upgrade you can use to complete your contest in 1-2 days.


If you add this, your contest will automatically be upgraded to Guaranteed to make sure you get fast results and get your favorite entry sooner.


You can upgrade by selecting the Urgent option while creating your contest. If your contest is already posted, just go to the contest page, click Edit Brief and add the Urgent upgrade.  

What is a Private contest?

The Private upgrade is an optional upgrade you can use to prevent your contest from being found on Internet search engines.


Private contests can only be viewed when you or any other user is logged in to Freelancer.  We recommend using this upgrade when confidentiality is essential.


To add the upgrade, select Private when creating your contest. If the contest has been posted already, you can still add the Private upgrade by going to the contest page, clicking Edit Brief and adding the upgrade.


Note: A Private contest cannot be reverted once the contest is active.

What is a Sealed contest? Why are the other contest entries hidden?

The Sealed upgrade is an optional upgrade you can use to ensure designers submit original contest entries.


Whereas a normal contest enables designers to view all the submitted entries, a Sealed contest means only the contest holder can see all the entries and the designers will only be able to view their own entries. Since a designer cannot see another designer's entries, this minimises disputes over copied entries.


To use the upgrade, select the Sealed option when creating your contest. If your contest is already posted, go to the contest page, click Edit Brief and select the upgrade.


Note: A Sealed contest cannot be made public once the contest is live.

Can I remove my contest from search engines?

Yes. You can hide your contest from search engines at any time by upgrading it to a Private contest! With this upgrade, only users logged in to Freelancer can see it!


Just select the Private option when creating your contest or click Edit Brief on your contest page to add the upgrade if the contest is already posted.


Note: The Private upgrade can no longer be reversed once the contest is active.

Can I make my Private contest public?

Unfortunately, it's not possible to make a Private contest public. Some designers specifically enter Private contests because their designs are protected  by being inaccessible to search engines and users who are not logged in.

Can I increase the prize I'm offering?

Yes, you can increase the contest prize as long as you have sufficient funds.


To do this, just go to your contest page and click Edit Brief. On the edit page, adjust the prize amount and click Update Contest once done.

click here to search the FAQ...